China: Temple of Confucius

20170630_092519
Confucius Statue

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it. – Confucius

Monday, 29 May 2017

Dragon Boat Festival. Day 2. I was super lazy today. This was my time of the month and I had cramps. I really didn’t want to go anywhere but I had several unchecked list in my itinerary notes. So, I decided to drag my feet downtown to one of most famous hutongs (narrow lane or alleyway in a traditional residential area of Beijing), Guozijian Street. There are two large temples in the area: Yonghe Lamasery and Temple of Confucius. I didn’t have the chance to visit Yonghe Lamasery. Maybe next time.

20170529_111827
Had a miracle happened? The oldman and his wheelchair. Hahahaa..

Ticket price to visit was only 30 yuan. The site opened from 08.30 AM to 6 PM. Getting out of the nearest subway (Yonghegong Station, Exit G) was like getting out of a time machine. Hahaha.. the way this oldie area preserved was remarkable. No wonder Beijing hutongs attract huge number of tourists.

20170529_105016

20170529_111920
Main building was surrounded by canal

The Temple of Confucius in Beijing was initially built in 1302. It is the second largest temple constructed for Confucius, the greatest thinker and educationalist in ancient China. This place was the ancient version of university.

20170529_111558
Prominent gate
20170529_105655
Hand-written calligraphy
20170529_113034
Place where students learn how to write calligraphy

Though I don’t practice Confucianism, I appreciate its teaching greatly. Many have influenced our modern day education system and thinking. That’s why I was more than excited to explore the temple.

In the evening, K and Z brought another good news: their expat friends invited us to barbecue party on the rooftop. Yai! Any news related to delicious food is always a good news. The best thing about this was that our lovely Italian host, E, lived in a hutong. Which pretty awesome since expats usually choose to live in lavish apartments. I met many new friends from UK, Taiwan, Germany, Italy, Georgia and others I can’t seem to remember.

20170529_115254
Guozijian street gate
20170529_174538
Rooftop party!

Did I have a great time with my new friends? Yes, of course I did. K, in particular, will never forget about the Georgian guy. Ahahaha..

Thank you Z, K and E for unforgettable hutong experience!

 

W

20170529_112652
Proof that Chinese people were super friendly and happy. This cheerful boy and his papa-mama said hi to me and showed me around while copying an airplane.
2 thoughts on “China: Temple of Confucius”

Leave a Reply

