Singapore: Chinatown

20170423_165216
Thian Hock Keng Temple Entrance

Sunday, 23 April 2017

The weather was so humid and hot by the time I finished wandering around Colonial District. I decided it’s no good if I continue sightseeing. I was also starving, needed a plate of hainan chicken rice. The most popular cuisine in Chinatown. Thus, I went back to Chic Otel to have lunch and a nap. LOL.

At around 3 PM, I was ready to go again. My next destination was Chinatown area. As one of the best tourist spots in Singapore, I wouldn’t miss this cultural neighborhood, though only for a walking by.

The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple

20170423_154753This place was remarkable. The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple is a four-story temple. The temple is built in a style based on the Buddhist mandala and integrated with the Buddhism of the Tang dynasty.

20170423_155406_001I was lucky to witness a sacred ceremony (or pray) where several bhikkhu and bhikkuni along with the people read their prayers relentlessly. Tourists were allowed to enter all floors as long as we wore decent clothes. I managed to take pictures of the temple’s awesome interiors.

20170423_155740The main focus for most visitors was actually the solid gold two-metre stupa on the fourth floor which was the place where the sacred relic kept.

Chinatown Food Street, Pagoda Street and Mosque Street

20170423_154334
Chinatown Food Street

Mosque Street was where my hotel located. It had relatively quite and less crowded atmosphere compare to other Chinatown streets. I chose this street to stay because of its strategic location. Only 3 minutes walking distance from Chinatown MRT Station. I recommended any travelers to rent a room in this street.

As for Chinatown Food Street and Pagoda Street, this was the busiest street I know. It’s where crispy duck restaurants, snack shops, accessories stores and hundreds of stalls selling everything from key chains to lucky cats. I was in love with their steamed chicken rice. Delicious and generous.

20170501_141445
Mosque Street

If you want a taste of Michelin Star cuisine, Liao Fan Hong Kong Soya Sauce Chicken Rice & Noodle is where you have to be. It was in between those streets, Smith Street. The price was very less knowing its level.

Sri Mariamman Temple

20170423_153906.jpgThe temple is the oldest shrine in Singapore. It is a place of worship for Tamil Hindus. Goddess Mariamman is the deity of disease and protection. It is located on Bridge Road.

I was reluctant to enter the temple because I have to take my shoes off. So, I just took pictures from outside. Sri Mariamman Temple was a fine illustration of Dravidian-style architecture. It especially stands out for its monumental tower that is seen at the entrance.

Red Dot Design Museum

20170501_140536The museum really stands out like a bright tomato-red building to the west of Singapore’s Chinatown. The color contrast with its surroundings was like a tourists magnet. For you who loves photography, you don’t want to miss it. I was astonished. Brilliant!

20170423_163337The museum is used as a small gallery. There are only two in the world, the other is in Essen, Germany. Though, I did not need to go inside to admire the design.

Note. The Red Dot Museum extends free admission only during the monthly Night designer bazaar, MAAD (Market for Artists And Designers). MAAD takes place on either the 1st or 2nd Friday of each month, from 5 PM – 12 AM.

Along the way to Telok Ayer

I do not remember the name of the street, but this one deserves a spot. Singapore and its rainbow color.

20170423_164928

Xièxiè, Chinatown!

W

20170423_163231

5 thoughts on “Singapore: Chinatown”

      1. I wouldn’t say professional, but through experience. Since you like to take building pictures as i seen in your blog. One way to improve your photo quality is to take pictures in the early morning when the light is most beautiful, when the sky is blue. Follow by in the afternoon from 3pm onwards (depends on weather). Hope my little tips help.

        Like

  1. I agree with you, Buddha temple is awesome. It was my first time to enter the Buddha temple, I felt comfortable with its circumstances. Damn, I think I missed seeing the gold statue at the fourth floor.
    I wonder why there are only a few people on your photo at china town, very quiet…

    Like

Leave a Reply

